Touring

rainbow bikeBikes can give you the freedom to tour with true independence. Your tour could be a few miles around your area – a longer day trip or something more ambitious touring in the UK or abroad.

There are no magic rules about cycle touring. You don’t need special bikes or equipment – though I hope you may find some of the stuff we will be selling at Blue Doors can add to your touring fun but when dipping your toe in the water it need not cost you a fortune to see the world from the perspective of a bike saddle.

I have listed some links that you may find helpful. Please let me know if you know of additional ones or give feed-back on how you have found the ones listed.

The CTC is the “Cyclist’s  Touring Club” and offers advice and services to members. They also run tours and their local sections run rides.

Useful links

Beds for cyclists lists bike friendly accommodation http://bedsforcyclists.co.uk/

There are a number of companies running cycling holdiays which include varying elements of touring:

Bike Adventures – European tours – www.bikeadventures.co.uk

Bicycle Cuba – Cuban tours – www.canbicuba.com

Byway Breaks – Welsh Borders – www.byways-breaks.co.uk

Cycle America – US cycling vacations – www.cycleamerica.com

Cycle Breaks – East Anglia, Europe and beyond – www.cyclebreaks.com

Discovery Travel – UK and international Tours – http://discoverybicycletours.com/

Headwater Holidays – UK and international holidays – http://www.headwater.com/

Ibero Cycle – Spanish touring – www.iberocycle.com

Mercurio Bike Travel – European tours – http://www.mercurio-bike-travel.com/

Storybikes – Scotish Borders – www.storybikes.co.uk

Wine Rides – combine riding with visits to English Vineyards – http://winerides.co.uk/the-wine-rides-route/

You can also go independently. If you are going to Europe, you may like to look at the European Bike Express which provides an alternative way to get you and your bike to Europe on a coach. www.bike-express.co.uk . For details of rail options, look at the cycle and trains page. Another useful contact if you are doing Land’s End/John O’Groats is a bike transport service between John O’Groats – Inverness.

cycle touring - cycle at Yarmouth isle of wight